Fall 2019 Department of Biomedical Informatics Colloquium Series

Location: The Offices at Baum Room 407A

Seminar Date Seminar Time Title Presenter Presenter's Institution Presenter's Website Nid
Friday, August 30, 2019 11am - 12pm Title IX Training & IT at Pitt and DBMI (students & postdocs only) Danielle Brown and Victoria Khersonsky Biomedical Informatics, University of Pittsburgh 54203
Friday, September 6, 2019 11am - 12pm Deep Learning over Heterogeneous Data: a challenge, a solution, and an application to Poly(A) signal prediction Haohan Wang, MS Carnegie Mellon University https://www.cs.cmu.edu/~haohanw/ 54204
Friday, September 13, 2019 11am - 12pm Recent Advances in Biomedical Question Answering Eric Nyberg, PhD Carnegie Mellon University https://www.cs.cmu.edu/~ehn/ 54205
Friday, September 20, 2019 11am - 12pm No Colloquium Scheduled for Sept 20 54206
Friday, September 27, 2019 11am - 12pm From Big Data to Bedside (BD2B): Towards AI-Based Precision Oncology Xinghua Lu, MD, PhD Biomedical Informatics, University of Pittsburgh https://www.dbmi.pitt.edu/person/xinghua-lu-md-phd-ms 54207
Friday, October 4, 2019 11am - 12pm HPC: Bridging ECE and DBMI Franz Franchetti, PhD Electric and Computer Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University https://engineering.cmu.edu/directory/bios/franchetti-franz.html 54208
Friday, October 11, 2019 11am - 12pm Data Sharing Networks supported by Neptune and R3: Roadmap for Access for Your Research Michael Becich, MD, PhD/Jonathan Silverstein, MD/Shyam Visweswaran, MD, PhD Biomedical Informatics, University of Pittsburgh https://www.dbmi.pitt.edu/person/michael-j-becich-md-phd 54209
Friday, October 18, 2019 11am - 12pm Finding and Integrating Data for Infectious Disease Modeling Wilbert van Panhuis, MD, PhD Graduate School of Public Health, University of Pittsburgh Assistant Professor, Epidemiology 54210
Friday, October 25, 2019 11am - 12pm TBA 54211
Friday, November 1, 2019 11am - 12pm TBA Carolyn Rose, PhD Carnegie Mellon University https://hcii.cmu.edu/people/carolyn-rose 54212
Friday, November 8, 2019 11am - 12pm PetuumMed: Algorithm and System for EHR-Based Medical Decision-Making Pengtao Xie, PhD Petuum, Inc. Senior Director of Data Solutions and Service, Research Scientist, Petuum, Inc. 54213
Friday, November 15, 2019 11am - 12pm TBA Milos Hauskrecht, PhD Computer Science, University of Pittsburgh http://sci.pitt.edu/faculty-and-research/faculty-directory/milos-hauskrecht/ 54214
Friday, November 22, 2019 11am - 12pm TBA Ravi Patel 54215
Friday, December 6, 2019 11am - 12pm TBA Shou-Jiang Gao, PhD Department of Microbiology and Molecular Genetics, University of Pittsburgh http://www.pmi.pitt.edu/person/shou-jiang-sj-gao-phd 54216
^